Juntos: Creating Ties

Sustainable development through meaningful partnerships.

Journal Entry #6: Molly Cook

IMG_3880

IMG_3902

26 May, 2013

Molly Cook

In the morning I feel heavy, my eyes are puffy and Juan Miguel tells me I look like a “Cangrejo”. The early morning trip to the latrina is less alarming, given that the pig’s snort is expected. (His corral is directly next to the latrina, I fear he watches me through the crack.)

We load the truck with paint and ride over to the over-whelmingly unfinished mural. Today is technically the last day we were given to paint, but we convinced the leaders to give us more time. (Margarito has agreed to bring detail brushes and turpentine from Siuna). As the day goes on, the fumes from the paint drive us insane. Adelaide’s music is the only thing that is keeping us going, and Juan Miguel is the DJ. There are less kids surrounding us since there is no school today, just Yorvin and his friends. They play around the school yard and at one point collect small manzanas to give to us as gifts. They see that it pleases us and that we think its adorable, so they bring us way too many.

Hugo is jumpy and just as excited about the silly things included in the mural as the kids are. When lunch comes around we have to go in shifts to guard theh mural.

Alba asks if we want to watch her kill the chickens. She snaps their necks and puts them in a pot, covering them with a top so when they flap post-death they dont fly out of control .

After a nap and some lunch I return to the school to continue with the mural. We of course don’t finish with the mural and so after attempting to scrub our bodies with turpentine, we are given a tour of the small chocolate factory. Alvaro walks us through the process and shows us all of the new molds and packaging. I think that the chocolate (all warmed up from the mixer) was the best thing I’ve ever eaten.

The cacao is heated, the shells are removed, the insides are grinded, the sugar is added, the blender mixes all of the ingredients and makes it fudgy, and then its put into the molds and cooled.

Dinner follows the tour, along with card games and laughter. Don Luis tries to teach me how to play but I am really awful. He laughs at me and helps me play all of my hands. For much of this trip, I’ve been struggling with my spanish. I couldn’t decide if it was the specific vocabulary and accents of the people here, or if I was just losing my Spanish. In any case, this game was one of the times where I felt effortless while speaking – like I used to.

I went to take a bucket shower at night and the pig scared the shit out of me when it stuck it’s nose in the shower. I screamed like a little b****.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 2, 2014 by in News, Rosa Grande 2013.